Chickpea and Eggplant Burger…kind of


As usual, I needed to use my eggplant, which was going bad too soon. I also had a taste for a lettuce-wrapped burger, so my search for dinner recipes began. I found this video. The woman in the video is quite annoying, but the burgers she made looked really good. I didn’t have all of the ingredients that she used, and I am not eating soy or sugar or dairy, so some things that she used I left out. Now that I think about it, my recipe was nothing like hers. I just used it as inspiration. 🙂  I hope the pictures explain what I did well enough.

 

Eggplant

1.00 cup, raw

82.00 grams

19.68 calories

Nutrient Amount DV

(%)

Nutrient

Density

World’s Healthiest

Foods Rating

fiber 2.76 g 11.0 10.1 excellent
manganese 0.20 mg 10.0 9.1 excellent
molybdenum 4.10 mcg 5.5 5.0 very good
potassium 188.60 mg 5.4 4.9 very good
folate 18.04 mcg 4.5 4.1 good
vitamin K 2.87 mcg 3.6 3.3 good
copper 0.07 mg 3.5 3.2 good
vitamin B6 0.07 mg 3.5 3.2 good
tryptophan 0.01 g 3.1 2.9 good
vitamin C 1.80 mg 3.0 2.7 good
magnesium 11.48 mg 2.9 2.6 good
vitamin B3 0.53 mg 2.6 2.4 good

The “kind of” in the tile means that the burgers didn’t come out as firm as an actual burger (meat, veggie or bean). They were soft, and a little crumbly. it may be a good idea to add something like oatmeal to absorb the liquid and hold the burger together. I added some brown rice flour (as you’ll see in the picture) to make the burgers a little dryer. They were still really good on the lettuce!

Thanks for reading!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

